Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One more milestone to rave about, Friends! A year ago this morning I was prepping for surgery, to have a large cancerous tumor removed from my body. See my Story Time! page for more information on that. I was thirsty, dehydrated, unsure of my future, and weirdly at peace.

Not having cancer is not something I’ll ever get over. You know the saying, “But by the grace of God go I”? Oh is it ever true. God promises us a lot of things about life – he’ll never leave us, he watches over us, all the things that happen in our lives are worked out for our good, he hears us when we pray, and much more..

But we are not promised things about living here on earth, except for knowing that in this world we will have pain. Interestingly enough, that concept is comforting to me. I know that my future here on earth holds some things in it that I don’t want for myself & the people I love. The thing that keeps me going through the good, the bad, & the ugly is that we won’t be here on earth for long, no matter what! Things like cancer or CF can’t help but feel like “everything” now, but they aren’t in light of eternity. Forever. I can handle my present because I am secure in my ultimate future.

*momentous pause* (this is getting a little heavy for me, we’re celebrating here)

Thankfully, my present is full of health & happiness. I am a year out of surgery & still as healthy as I ever could be. I joke with Josh that it almost doesn’t even feel like I have CF right now. Thank you, Jesus.

Looking back on this past year has given me a lot to think about in regards to the way I approach my future – how I spend my time, what my goals are, where my relationship with Jesus is, where my relationships are with the people I love. Simply put, I want to do better. Watch out, World!

Thanks for being a part of my life, Friends. I’m sure you all can relate to “the good, the bad, & the ugly”. Right?

And now, a rousing chorus of a much-loved song:

  • When upon life’s billows you are tempest-tossed,
    When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,
    Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
    And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

    • Count your blessings, name them one by one,
      Count your blessings, see what God hath done!
      Count your blessings, name them one by one,
      Count your many blessings, see what God hath done.
      And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.
  • Are you ever burdened with a load of care?
    Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?
    Count your many blessings, every doubt will fly,
    And you will keep singing as the days go by.
  • When you look at others with their lands and gold,
    Think that Christ has promised you His wealth untold;
    Count your many blessings—wealth can never buy
    Your reward in heaven, nor your home on high.
  • So, amid the conflict whether great or small,
    Do not be discouraged, God is over all;
    Count your many blessings, angels will attend,
    Help and comfort give you to your journey’s end.

I can’t hear (or see) this song without feeling the memory associations that go along with it of my parents singing us to sleep at night when we were little. Dad on the guitar at the top of the stairs by my bedroom door, & Mom on the piano downstairs. Talk about warm fuzzies! Mom & Dad, those nights are on my list of blessings that I count.