Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Chicago StuffJosh & I spent a few days in Chicago recently.. Somewhat recently.. Okay, in early September.. My apologies to those who follow me on Instagram, this post could be a wee bit repetitive for you.

Josh was in town for work, but per the usual on these trips, I was footloose & fancy free. Basically my time fell into four events (with a little shopping MI Ave on the side): stumbling upon The Renegade Craft Fair, vintage shopping, beaching on Lake Michigan, and the Chicago Architecture Foundation River Tour.

Renegade Chicago

Vintage Furniture in ChicagoThis vintage shop was amazing. Josh was with me here & we were in big time research mode. Nelson, Wassily, Baughman, Eames, and my favorite, Albini.. All in one room! Doesn’t happen much where we live.. Except in our basement. HA. Kidding. Mostly.

Wicker Park Chicago

Chicago Sights

Downtown Chicago

I took one afternoon & did some business missions for the shop, which was fun.. Ever toured those tiny (somewhat has-been) shops on the upper floors of Jeweler’s Row? They have their own kind of charm and I’m not referring to cheeseball sales reps. It’s like a legit-historical vibe, which I’m obviously pretty into.

Chicago Skyline

Our hotel had a pretty view, a few blocks off Michigan Ave but nothing some walking shoes couldn’t conquer. However I definitely could’ve done without the power blackout at 9 one night while Josh was still in a conference.. Which meant me, alone, in my room, no power, 10th floor, phones not working, you get the drift..

Chicago River Tour

The river tour! Hot, hot, hot! But totally worth it. I’m always game for finding ways to see a lot of a town without having to hoof it on foot the whole way. Even if that makes you the most biggest cliche possible. Well I guess the biggest would be those bright yellow duck tours. But really it’s pretty tourist-y. And highly recommended. I can’t believe we only live three hours away and have never done this before.

Oak Park Beach Chicago

I felt a little more like a “local” the day I walked to the beach for a few hours of September sun. Sorry, Chicago, but you’re on the wrong side of the lake. And it’s super weird to have the sun setting behind you. Do you face the water & have the sun hit your back? Or face the sun & not be able to see the lake? I chose the latter & it felt weird. Also. Not to be a complainer, but the lake was not the cleanest. Chicago, no offense, but you sorta failed my beach experience test. But don’t worry, we love you for lots of other reasons.

Renegade Chicago 021

Chicago Skyline

Lots of other reasons.

