Tags

, , , ,

Back in the middle of August I started a little experiment with our hydrangea. Remember it? If not, you can check back here for the details. Basically I found out that you can take cuttings off of the bush and grow new bushes from the cuttings. I was probably too excited about this and immediately pictured a yard full of hydrangeas. I’m still there.

Well, I gave it a try (that was in August), and today we’ve got an update on this little cutting.

It has spent the last 2 1/2 months in our kitchen in indirect sun. For almost all of that time it stayed in the plastic-wrap (shown in the former post) and surprised me by not needing water for two whole months! Must be a sign that something was going right in our mini biodome.

Now it is going in the ground for the winter, covered with a big clay pot to keep the cold at bay. So far so good.

Another way to root new hydrangeas that I read about is called Layering. It seems pretty basic – you take a stem that is close to the ground and cover it with soil enough that it takes root. I’m obviously no expert but that doesn’t sound too tough.

Why not, let’s try that one too.

Now there is one stem on each side of the big bush being “layered”, so if all goes well we’ll have three baby hydrangeas in the spring. I couldn’t be more excited.

Even at the end of the season when everything is dying, this bush finds a way to be pretty. Do you ever bring hydrangea blooms inside to dry & keep for the winter? I think I may need to bring a couple of them to Grandma Ryan.

Oh! I have the cutest story to tell you thanks to Rod & Bernice, a lovely little couple that swims with us in the mornings. They are regular readers of this blog (Hi, Rod & Bernice!) and by that I mean that Rod prints out the posts and brings them to Bernice because computers aren’t her thing. Anyway, they know I like flowers & they’ve been telling me that I should try planting hollyhocks.

Last week I arrived at the pool in the morning & Bernice had brought me this container of hollyhock seeds out of their own garden and Rod even printed instructions of when to plant. So sweet! I can’t wait to see if they come up in the spring. Any other hollyhock lovers out there? I don’t know the first thing about them, but I love having something new to look forward to.

Thanks, Rod & Bernice!

