Tags

, , ,

When we bought our house four years ago, we inherited these sweet little bushes by the door to the back porch.

Right now I’m really talking about the little lady on the bottom right, a pink-flowering hydrangea. The one on the left I have no words for. I won’t be surprised when that one takes over the block someday.

Anyway, the pink one and I have had some issues with each other throughout our short time together. I was in love with it in 2008 when it flowered prettily, seen below.

Sorry, I know it’s almost impossible to see behind that ridiculous cosmo. The point is that the hydrangea is pretty. That’s all.

Then for the next two years we had a ‘falling out’ of sorts.. Which means that I trimmed it at the wrong time. It went two years without blooming properly. Fast forward to this summer, and it’s back! Hooray!

This whole story was just to help you be able to imagine my delight when I happened upon the information that it is possible to grow new hydrangeas by taking a cutting off of your existing plant! We’re talking inordinately excited, Friends. I wasted no time getting started on my little experiment.

I took a cutting of a branch that had not flowered and was between 2-6″ in length. I cut it just below two leaves, which I pulled off. Next I dipped the stem in rooting compound and planted it in a little red pot while whispering little words of encouragement to grow. It’s best to do this project in the spring instead of mid-August, from what I read, so I’m sure any encouragement I can give it will help. I don’t want to overwater or overfertilize it and words of encouragement seemed fitting at the time. Still with me?

Next up I had to create a little greenhouse for it to grow in, so I used some mini wooden stakes and plastic wrap. Oh, and I sealed it with some pretty ribbon just in case that would help it grow better.

The big concern is whether or not this little guy will survive the winter. Apparently I need to either insert the pot into the ground and cover the top with mulch or set it outdoors near the foundation for the winter with a clay pot over top. My plan is to go with the second option, but right now I’m just trying to make sure it survives until then!

I have big plans for this little guy if he survives. Like, front yard plans. *gasp*

Have any of you ever tried this? Any words of wisdom for me/the hydrangea? I’d love to hear them!

