Tags

, , ,

Monday, April 25, Day 6 of the Senior Safari
Bloomington, IL to Grand Rapids, MI

Story of the Day:

We woke up in Bloomington and went to sleep in Grand Rapids that night! GOAL! Those last few hours were some of the best and some of the worst, realizing that we had done what we had prayed to be able to do, and trying to set the stage for the unknown Next Step at Resthaven, where Mom will be living.

Mom has a welcoming committee at Resthaven, as Ron’s dad and new wife Fran live there in the apartments along with a few other people Mom knew at least slightly in previous years. For years now Ron and I have regularly gone to Resthaven on Friday nights to help with the hymn sing (that’s a concert you don’t want to miss if you’re nearby! We can get tickets for you!). I’m glad they had room for Mom.

We met up with Ron’s Dad in the garden (his special project) and then turned in to the front door. It didn’t take long to wheel Mom down to her new room, which she pronounced “lovely!” and “larger than anywhere I’ve lived in years!”  The burgundy lift chair was a real hit, as well as the pink bedspread and the soft, adorable sheets trimmed in lace. They made her room such a welcoming place. There were some admission details to take care of, but by 8:30 Ron and I were headed home, and Mom was sound asleep in her new bed.

We have so much to be thankful for! THANK YOU FOR YOUR PRAYERS.

Photo of the Day:

Quote of the Day:

Mom/Grandma: I thought I left my roses behind in California, but the first person I met when I came to Michigan (at Resthaven) was named Rose!

Mom/Grandma: The Lord is good.

