Tags

, , ,

Thursday, April 21, 2011
West of Phoenix, AZ to Las Cruces, NM

Update from the Road:

We woke up about 50 miles west of Phoenix in a truck stop, after a night where Ron slept soundly and Mom and I didn’t. First night jitters? Maybe. Too many trucks coming/going? Decidedly! Things brightened as soon as we got up and ready for the day.

Story of the Day: 

We had lunch with a business friend in Tucson, and then resumed Travel Mode. We had difficulty finding a WIFI signal.. I sent one unsaved blog post into trackless cyberspace, don’t you hate it when that happens? I also started to read to Mom. Since Heaven is a reality to her, I thought she would enjoy Heaven Is For Real. We’ll read a couple of chapters a day and see how it goes.

Our day ended in Las Cruces, NM, at an RV park on a hill overlooking the city. It was as quiet as a grave. We slept extremely well, all of us. Thank you for your prayers for us this day!

Picture of the Day:

Quote(s) of the Day:

Mom/Grandma: I woke up this morning and I was thankful, and here I am, still thankful.

Mom/Grandma: I know deserts. I taught for a year at Manazanar (Japanese relocation center in California during WWII). That was a real desert experience. In the desert in the summer it’s hot enough to fry an egg on your eyebrows.

Friday, April 22, 2011 Day 3, Senior Safari
Las Cruces, NM to Amarillo, TX

Story of the Day:

Any day when Mom is feeling herself, she wants to start by writing letters to someone, anyone, RIGHT NOW! Since she can’t do it herself, with her impaired eyesight, it requires coordination. This morning while we had WIFI at the KOA, we gave her a lesson on how to email. We wrote one letter to Dale and Dennis (both of her sons) and their families. She had a completely delighted smile on her face, clapped her hands and said “Wonderful!” I thought we could move on to other things, but Mom moved on like this: “Now let’s write all my ladies who came to my good-bye party.” “Now let’s write (sister) Aunt Mary.” “Now let’s write everyone I know, this is easy!”

Photo of the Day:

Quote(s) of the Day:

Mom wanted to treat us out to eat tonight, so we stopped at a very authentic Mexican restaurant in Santa Rosa. Mom ate a quesadilla with lots of enthusiasm, but it was HOT, as in spicy-hot.

Mom/Grandma: I have exactly as much Mexican blood in me as you do- zilch!

At some point in the day we had a conversation about teenage boys, especially the fact that they aren’t usually neat and tidy.

Mom/Grandma: So Ron, you aren’t a teenager anymore, are you tidy?
Ron and Linda: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Linda: (Still laughing)

