Tags

,

source

Best. Idea. Ever.

So, I had already rocketed around the National Museum of Natural History: I checked out the gemstones/minerals upstairs, saw the animal bones (creepy), toured the dinosaurs and the giant taxidermy exhibit of wild mammals (including 2 giraffes, a hippo, and a huge walrus), and was finally rushing through the ocean exhibit to see every last thing before the museum closed..

..At which point I stumbled upon this!

I think I literally had to skid to a halt & do a U-turn. Not sure if you can tell from this picture, but it’s a coral reef! Made out of yarn! The colors were beautiful, and the closer you looked the more interesting it got.

The exhibit is one in a series of Hyperbolic Crochet Coral Reef exhibits in several cities. Do yourself a favor and click on this link to see some other awesome pictures of these beauties!

It was colorful and artistic and oddly enough I think it made my day.

source

It was so fun to run into this exhibit unknowingly -sometimes (good) things are even better when you don’t see them coming!

Well, this concludes my mini-museum tour, although I should say that I did really enjoy the National Art Gallery – it’s also huge. Piece of advice: Never go to DC without sensible walking shoes! It would be your worst mistake. There were a couple of days that I thought I had walked my legs right off my body.

I think I’ll do one more DC post- maybe some highlights of places that Josh & I explored together. I hope you liked the coral. I just couldn’t let it go without sharing it with you!

