Tags

, , ,

The question of the decade.

Sometimes when I read other blogs or write about things like gardening & vintage love, or even living simply.. It seems like lots of people who care about those things also are proponents for “being green”. Does that make me “green” too?

Nope.

What is “being green”? I guess it’s a term identified with being environmentally conscious. Maybe politically, maybe within your own community, your own household, your own head.. A desire to put the sustainability of the earth first, to make choices  that promote the protection of the earth’s resources. (Now would be a good time to head to Wikipedia to show me how I could have phrased that better)

Being “green” is (or can be) a lifestyle. Unfortunately it’s too high maintenance for me. That’s pretty much it. I don’t mind doing my own gardening (I enjoy it) but if it’s off-season, I’m buying produce from my grocery store, & probably not paying extra for organic.

As far as household products go, I’m using bleach. Period.

Our cars? One is so old that it could be polluting our atmosphere just by looking at it, and the other is a beautiful shade of grass-green. Green enough? Good. Cause I don’t want to have to charge my car up in order to drive it. Also, special green cars cost a lot of money.

Energy usage? No solar panels at this house!

Well, I’m sure you get the point, and please don’t be offended. I know that it is something that lots of people take very seriously. What I’m saying is that I just am not willing to go too far down the green road. I will, however, make a few concessions.

  • I love the 3 R’s. Reducing our consumption of stuff is a good idea. Recycling is something we definitely commit to at our house. Reusing is also big here, especially since that means I get to shop for vintage!
  • I eat organic food (during the summer time when it comes from my own garden, ha).
  • I love buying local stuff. And supporting small businesses. (Green-ish, right?)

We all have things that we are passionate about in life. We make priorities and focus our energy & resources on those things. For me, it is not a priority to live “green”. Is it possible to live consciously and not focus all attention on our carbon footprint? I like to think so.

I’m glad that there are people who care about the earth and our quality of life while we’re here on it. I care too. Just don’t ask me to install a windmill on my roof.

What about you? Have you made a lifestyle committment to making our planet “greener”? Do you think it’s all a bunch of rubbish? What shade of “green” are you?

