Tags

,

Thanks for all of your feedback last time I posted about Living Simply. I like the concept of living a “simple life”, and I think we can learn a lot from each other when we discuss it. First, let me be clear – I’m not trying to lecture or advise anyone about how to live their lives. I am not an expert, or authority, or anything remotely close to that! This topic just happens to touch on some things that make me “me”, and I wanted to share them with you.

It’s hard to talk about simplifying my life without bringing up my schedule, so let’s start with that. I’ve done some major carving into it in the last few years, and it’s been an interesting journey.

10 years ago I was in college, working toward a degree (in health communications) that would hopefully lead to a full time job with health benefits. I knew insurance would be a priority and it was a goal I worked for until I got married. Funny, the job & the husband came at the same time!

It wasn’t until I had been married for over a year, working a full-time job and halfway through my master’s degree, that I realized this plan was not going to work. I was burning out! What was an attainable schedule for most people was too much for me.

My response? Quit my full time job, work for my dad’s business (again- ha!) part-time, and eventually quit taking classes toward a degree that I had no intention of using professionally. Let me tell you, there was total freedom in realizing that it was okay to let go of the “achievement” mentality that I went through college with.

I can definitely “busy-bee” myself sick. Can’t we all? The difference is just that I get there sooner than most of you do.

My life is unlike that of most women my age. I understand that my needs are different. Josh actually calls my therapy (breathing treatments) my part-time job, which he started doing when I felt guilt for being home and not contributing to our bank account as much as I used to. We have prioritized the time & energy that my health maintenence requires over the extra money a more demanding job would bring me.

Within the “down time” that my flexible schedule brings me, I have freedom. I use it in several ways:

  • Tutoring at a local elementary school
  • Hanging out with my nephew a couple times a week
  • Sometimes being lazy & not doing productive things like I could
  • When I am sick, this time is available. Remember this last summer? It was such a blessing to have the time to be home recovering without my career suffering.

My daily schedule is simple. But with it comes a life that is oh-so-fulfilling! Getting to this place of contentment did not happen overnight, and I can’t say that this is what my life will look like in the future, but my present is simply wonderful (ha! Pun intended). I am so thankful.

I hope that wasn’t totally yawn-inducing to read through.. Just a glimpse into my life. What about yours? Have you ever gone through and stripped things out of your schedule?

Next up on Simply Living the Dream.. Living in our Small House!! (l.o.v.e.)

