Tags

,

source, found via this blog

What do you picture when you think of living a simple life? It makes me picture “a time in the past” when things happened more predictably. Neighborhoods were real communities, families ate dinner together, you grew your veggies in your back garden & canned them for the winter.. You know the drill.

Frankly, I’m really attracted to those ideas. The funny thing is, if we could go back and ask someone living in an earlier time period how simple their life was, we’d get laughed out of town. Life isn’t simple.

At least, my life isn’t simple. Is yours? ..haha.. As if anyone would say “yes” to that.

Anyone looking at my life would think it is indeed pretty “simple” or easy-going, or even boring, if they didn’t know that I have cystic fibrosis. Living with CF means automatically that my life will never be simple. Not originally, not now, not ever. And I’m okay with that. I’m great with it actually. Focusing my energy on maintaining my health was always a priority of my parents, and when I was old enough it became mine.

Interestingly enough, my high-maintenence self has developed patterns over time that crave simplicity. I can’t keep everything in my life “simple”. But I can try! I thought I’d share with you a few ways that my lifestyle has gone in the direction of simplicity, and if nothing more is gained, it may at least explain some of my behaviors that you find weird. Ha!

Some things I’d like to cover in upcoming posts include: protecting my schedule, living in a small house, maintaining my wardrobe, making a “small income” (depending on who you ask) work, gardening/composting, and my attraction to all things vintage.

What do you think, can you relate? What would you add to the discussion?

