Tags

You may be wondering what type of books I’ve been reading since I asked for your input after my surgery this summer. I have been given so many recommendations/suggestions/loaners/gifts of books from you that I am still working through my stash! I confess that I have made a run or two to the library lest my library card get dusty, but I thought I’d share my thoughts of the book I finished this morning.

It’s called Same Kind of Different as Me, and it’s by Ron Hall & Denver Moore, with Lynn Vincent. Published in 2006. My mom loaned it to me and I had to share it here because I found myself bawling through the second half of it. Not only was it an interesting story because it’s TRUE, but it is the story of two men whose lives were joined together for the purpose of advancing God’s kingdom, and it wasn’t because either man was interested in knowing the other. The story is humbling and inspiring at the same time. It allows us each to be who we are while encouraging us to live our lives serving others and serving God. 

In case you can't read it, the small print on the cover says "a modern day slave, an international art dealer, and the unlikely woman who bound them together"

Another plot line of the story involves watching a loved one die a painful death due to cancer. I took this somewhat personally for the first time – it reinforced to me how thankful I am that God allowed me and my loved ones to avoid this awful situation. How close I came to a similar terrible fate and how far I am from it! So, so grateful.

My mistake was reading this book before bed: it led to a wet pillow case and a stuffy nose. I would recommend this book to a whole range of people because it is an easy read with a message that we could all do well to hear!

P.S. I don’t think I’ve written a book review since junior high, so I’m sure you’ll forgive me if I have left out any important elements.

..Aaannnd it's been too long since I've posted a cat photo.

