Tags

, , , , , ,

 

I want to tell you a little bit about why I chose the title of this blog. Almost as soon as I decided to start a blog, the title was there waiting for me, “For Such a Time as This”. An obvious reason is that it’s a new blog with the specific purpose of following our progress through my surgery and possible cancer. But in my head there are more reasons too.

This past school year I did a Bible Study on Esther. She was a queen who made brave and bold decisions that helped save her life and the lives of her people (Jews). The famous verse from her story when she is challenged to be queen “for such a time as this” has stuck with me (Esther 4 verse 14). Esther faced her fear and acted courageously, and lives were saved.

To be honest, I’ve always thought that living with cystic fibrosis was my portion of physical “ailments” that gets doled out. This whole cancer situation came out of nowhere and shocked us all – what a bizarre thing! I already HAVE a disease! This is so CRAZY that there is no way this is unnoticed by God or even unplanned. I know God hates sin, death, and disease, but I believe that He does allow those things in our lives – TO BRING GOOD OUT OF THEM.

Something this big and bizarre catches attention – it’s certainly caught mine! I can’t help but believe that God has allowed me/us to experience this because it’s time for Him to do some work around here. He’s showing up ALL OVER. As we heard in church yesterday, He’s on the move! AND I get to be a part of it! It’s exciting. I never pictured myself being used by God and being aware of it at the same time, and I just feel so honored. (Not that I’m physically looking forward to it, if that makes sense..)

So I’m here, for such a time as this, to talk about Him. And to tell you that my hope is in Him. I am so so hopeful about my health – but I know that even if things don’t go the way I want them to, He’ll be with me the whole way.

