Tags

, , , , , , ,

It was nice to be away for a little while! But I always love coming home. Don’t you love coming home when you’ve been away? Anyway, since I have them, how about a few (unedited, because ain’t nobody got time for that) phone pics from the rest of our time in DC?

I call this “Capitol Josh”. For obvious reasons if you know him, but if you don’t, he doesn’t go the suit/tie route often. As luck would have it, it snowed on the day he was on The Hill. Poor Capitol Josh.

Capitol Josh

We popped over to the Smithsonian briefly one evening, and I found myself missing Thomas almost as much as I did at the zoo, which was a lot. Thomas recently called a triceratops a “Seratopsis” which I can’t love any more than I do. So. Bad phone pic opportunity! Boom.

Triceratops and Me

The gem exhibit, not disappointing. Again.

Natural History Gem Exhibit

One particularly brisk and windy afternoon, I rode the metro to Old Alexandria, and Josh met me there once he was out of work. I loved the area but would have loved it even more with happier weather.

Old Alexandria Trolley

You know we never miss a chance to check out local antique sources, but in this area they were super “antique-y” with that old school east coast vibe, not really our thing. Mostly.

Old Alexandria Antique Shop

There was that one happy hour shop, though, that had barware from the 20’s on up, and oh my .. They had more bar carts than I’ve ever seen in one place before. Jackpot. And also NFS. Which is probably good, because I can totally imagine Josh trying to find a way to bring one as his 65th carry-on piece of luggage.

Happy Hour Shop

Cupcakes at Crumbs bakery. They said their top seller is the red velvet, which is on the top left. FYI.

Crumbs DC

We had a few hours extra on the last day before we had to head back to the airport, & couldn’t decide between the White House (I haven’t seen it since I was little.. Wait, have I ever seen it? Not sure…) and the Botanical Garden. Yup. Not really a question, once I’m looking at it in print. Remember, it was cold. So this was Heaven!

Botanical Garden DC

We didn’t have enough time since we had to go back to the hotel & collect our luggage before heading to the airport, but I could totally spend and afternoon with a book here. Maybe I will someday!

Botanical Garden, DC

There are some more DC pictures on my Instagram account here, so check it out if you’re curious how me losing a bet affected us getting to the airport. I hate losing bets.

 

 

