Tags

, , , , ,

Circle RugWell, guys, I’ve got a little bit of a health update for you today. After seven months antibiotic-free, I’m back on orals. I have been for 10 days now, actually, and now I’m adding a second antibiotic to the mix because things aren’t moving in the right direction yet. I’m letting you know because I sure would appreciate your prayers! I don’t like it when my lungs feel small or constricted, and even though the rest of me feels pretty good, this is a concern.

Also weighing on my heart today, a childhood friend of mine just found out last week that her six-year-old son has CF. Talking with her, and processing through things mentally, has found a vulnerable spot in my heart and I am having a hard time separating some emotions, if that makes any sense. Pray that I can be a good friend to her, and that the heaviness/darkness that can seep in will be kept at bay.

Also, my brother Mark is on antibiotics. Apparently we like to do this together. Yeesh.

Before you head for the hills lest I come up with something even more Debbie-Downer-y, here’s some encouragment that snuck up on me yesterday. You know how sometimes people talk about how they were reading the Bible and something just “jumped right out” at them? I always wish for those moments. But last night I had my own little moment, a gift of encouragment when I was actually asking for it. I was reading the verses set out for me on my Bible App, and these ones jumped off the screen and into my heart. I felt loved.

Psalm 3:3 (New Living Translation)

“But you, Oh Lord, are a shield around me; you are my glory, the one who holds my head high.”

And then, Proverbes 18:14

“The human spirit can endure a sick body, but who can bear a crushed spirit?”

These verses combined = everything.

Aaaand to hammer it home, how about the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir singing it? Our choir sings this in church sometimes and it’s one of my favorites. I hope it encourages you today, as it has encouraged me!

